Some features of this site are not compatible with older versions of Internet Explorer. Upgrade your browser or install Google Chrome Frame to better experience this site.

Past Winners

NCSEA Service Award

This award is presented to an individual who has worked for the betterment of NCSEA to a degree that is beyond the norm of volunteerism. It is given to someone who has made a clear and indisputable contribution to the organization and therefore to the profession.

1999  W. Gene Corley & Ronald F. Nelson
2000  James T. Slider
2001  Norm Scheel
2002  Fred Cowen
2004  Craig Cartwright
2006  Stephanie Young
2007  Ronald Hamburger
2008  Jon Schmidt
2009  Timothy Mays
2010  Edwin T. Huston
2011  Marc S. Barter
2012  Emile Troup & Mike Tylk
2013  Greg Schindler
2014  Susan Jorgensen
2015  Craig Barnes
2016  Carrie Johnson
2017  James O. Malley
2018  Barry Arnold
2019  Ben Nelson
2020  Brian Dekker
2021  Tom DiBlasi
2022  Emily Guglielmo


Robert Cornforth Award

This award is presented to an individual for exceptional dedication and exemplary service to a Member organization and to the profession.

2001  Emile Troup
2003  Benjamin Baer & Marc Barter
2004  Mike Tylk
2005  Craig Barnes
2009  David Bonneville
2010  William Holmes & Robert B. Johnson
2011  Edwin T. Huston & William L. Lavicka
2012  Ronald Milmed
2014  Dustin Cole
2015  Carl Josephson
2016  Robert Paullus, Jr.
2017  Theodore E. Smith
2018  Ryan Kersting
2019  Tom DiBlasi
2020  Jerry Maly
2021  Robert Durfee
2022  Chun C. Lau


The Susan M. Frey NCSEA Educator Award

The Susan M. Frey NCSEA Educator Award is presented to an individual who has a genuine interest in, and extraordinary talent for, effective instruction for practicing structural engineers.  The award was established to honor the memory of Sue Frey, one of NCSEA's finest educators.

2013  Susan M. Frey
2014  Timothy Mays
2015  Emily Guglielmo
2017  Edwin T. Huston
2018  Ronald Hamburger
2019  S.K. Ghosh
2020  Duane K. Miller
2021  Michelle Kam-Biron


James Delahay Award

This award is presented at the recommendation of the NCSEA Code Advisory Committee, to recognize outstanding individual contributions towards the development of building codes and standards. It is given in the spirit of its namesake, a person who made a long and lasting contribution to the code development process.

2004  James Rongoe
2005  John Hooper 
2006  Ronald Hamburger
2007  David Bonneville
2008  Michael Valley
2009  Larry Griffis & Edwin Huston
2010  Robert Bachman 
2011  James R. Harris
2012  James Robinson
2013  Alan G. Steinle
2014  James R. Cagley & James O. Malley
2015  Don Scott
2016  David Bonowitz
2017  Michael O'Rourke
2018  Jonathan Siu
2019  Kelly Cobeen
2020  Kevin Moore
2021  Ramon Gilsanz
2022  Gwenyth Searer


Susan Ann “Susie” Jorgensen Presidential Leadership Award

This new award was created to honor the late NCSEA Board President and advocate for the profession, Susan Ann "Susie" Jorgensen, who passed away in November 2020. This award is presented to an individual who has demonstrated exceptional leadership potential through their activities within NCSEA and/or their SEA (even if they did not serve in a formal leadership role). The award is to be bestowed on candidates who embody Susie's passion, vision, and legacy of leadership, and it is intended to celebrate increased participation of emerging leaders and encourage recipients to engage (or continue to engage) in formal leadership..

2021  Katie Courtright
2022  Michelle Ryland & Samantha E. Brummell