Some features of this site are not compatible with older versions of Internet Explorer. Upgrade your browser or install Google Chrome Frame to better experience this site.

2020 Award Winners

The NCSEA Service Award

This award is presented to an individual who has worked for the betterment of NCSEA to a degree that is beyond the norm of volunteerism. It is given to someone who has made a clear and indisputable contribution to the organization and therefore to the profession.


Brian Dekker, P.E., S.E., is the President of Sound Structures, Inc. in Lake Zurich, Illinois.  Supported by his wife Laura, Mr. Dekker is nearly as active in the structural engineering community as he is at home with their five sons.

After founding the SEA Student Chapter at U of I in 2003, he served in committees and on the Board of Directors for the SEAOI.  In 2011, Mr. Dekker was elected to the NCSEA Board of Directors, serving 6 years, including NCSEA President in 2015-2016.  During his presidency, he orchestrated the hiring of Al Spada and retirement transition of Jeanne Vogelzang. He was instrumental in forming the Communications Committee, the Young Member Group Support Committee, the NCSEA Grant Program, and the Finance & Investment Committee. He served as Co-Chair of the Advocacy Committee, Chair of the Students and Educators Subcommittee, and Chair of the Videography subcommittee.  He is also the inventor of the NCSEA LEGO Shaketable. In 2020, Mr. Dekker became the President of NCSEA Media, responsible for STRUCTURE Magazine.

Robert Cornforth Award

This award is presented to an individual for exceptional dedication and exemplary service to a Member organization and to the profession. 


Jerry Maly, P.E., is a civil/structural engineer and a Principal in the Denver, Colorado office of Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates, Inc., where his practice is focused on the rehabilitation of existing buildings, and the investigation and repair of structural damage, deterioration, and failures.

Mr. Maly joined the Structural Engineers Association of Colorado (SEAC) in the 1980s, served on its board of directors from 1996 through 1999, and was president in 1998. He has served on numerous SEAC committees, including: Snow Loads, Winds Loads, Existing Structures, Nominating, and Business Management; and he chaired the Denver Building Department Liaison and Membership Committees for over 20 years. In 1997 and again in 2017, Jerry served on ad hoc committees charged with amending/updating the association’s bylaws. And in 2018, he was honored with life membership in SEAC, an award given only twenty times in the association’s 65 year history.

Jerry has also been involved in code development on both the local and national levels through his work with the Denver Building Department and as a member of the NCSEA Existing Buildings/Structural Retrofit Committee.

Susan M. Frey NCSEA Educator Award

The Susan M. Frey NCSEA Educator Award is presented to an individual who has a genuine interest in, and extraordinary talent for, effective instruction for practicing structural engineers.  The award was established to honor the memory of Sue Frey, one of NCSEA's finest educators. 


Duane K. Miller, Sc.D., P.E., is a recognized authority on the design and performance of welded connections.  He is a popular speaker on the subject and has lectured around the world.  In 2015, he was named an AWS Fellow. He received the American Institute of Steel Construction's T. R. Higgins Lectureship Award in 2001, the AISC Lifetime Achievement Award in 2005, and became the eighth recipient of the AISC Robert P. Stupp Award for Leadership Excellence in 2016; he became the first recipient of the AISC Steel Conference Speaker Award in 2018. He was appointed an Adjunct Professor at the University of Alberta in 2019. He has authored or co-authored texts and chapters of many handbooks, including the AISC Design Guide on Welding and the Mark’s Handbook of Engineering, 12th Edition. He has appeared as a subject expert on the History Channel and Discovery Channel.

He is a former Chair of the AWS D1 Structural Welding Code Committee. He was the first Chair of the Seismic Welding Subcommittee and is a former co-chair of the AASHTO-AWS D1.5 Bridge Welding Code Committee. His current technical involvement includes membership on the AWS D1 committee and the AISC Specification Committee.

The James Delahay Award

This award is presented at the recommendation of the NCSEA Code Advisory Committee, to recognize outstanding individual contributions towards the development of building codes and standards. It is given in the spirit of its namesake, a person who made a long and lasting contribution to the code development process.


Kevin Moore, P.E., S.E., SECB, is a Senior Principal and Structural Division Head of Simpson Gumpertz & Heger Inc. in San Francisco. He has been active in NCSEA since 2003, and is the current Chair of the NCSEA Resilience Committee and Past Chair of the NCSEA Seismic Subcommittee to the Code Advisory Committee. He is the chair of the Structural Standards Committee of the Structural Engineers Association of California and is the Vice President of the Board for the Structural Engineers Association of Northern California. Kevin represents NCSEA with the Building Seismic Safety Council and serves on a number of standards development organizations.


  2020 Special Awards Press Release