Some features of this site are not compatible with older versions of Internet Explorer. Upgrade your browser or install Google Chrome Frame to better experience this site.

Geometry and the Design of Truss Structures

August 3, 2017

Recorded and Available for Purchase

1.5 PDH's
(Not accredited in New York where seminar must be live)

Recorded webinars can be purchased using the NCSEA Yearly Live & Recorded Webinar Subscription.

Recorded
Register
Diamond Reviewed

Recorded Webinar


Geometry and the Design of Truss Structures
 

Geometry is arguably the single most important parameter in the design of efficient truss structures. The lecture will explore how the theoretical innovations of Maxwell and other structural pioneers can be combined with state-of-the-art optimization tools to create highly efficient truss structures. The presentation will discuss how an understanding of the geometry of forces can be used to design the geometry of trusses.

 

 

 

Speakers

William Baker, P.E., S.E., is a Structural Engineering Partner at SOM. Throughout his career, Bill has dedicated himself to innovative structural engineering design and research. His expertise covers a variety of structures at many scales; from the development of the “buttressed core” structural system for the Burj Khalifa, the world’s tallest man-made structure; to the Broadgate Exchange House, a 10-story office building spanning a 78-meter-long rail yard in London; to a new two-story training center for Roche Diagnostics in Indianapolis; to Millennium Park’s Pritzker Pavilion in Chicago; to the pedestrian bridge at 707 Fifth – Manulife Place in Calgary; to the Fishers Island Residence, a 4,600 sf steel and glass single family residence in New York, with architect Thomas Phifer and Partners; to Skyspace, a permanent art installation with artist James Turrell at Rice University; to research projects leading to new, highly efficient bracing and structural systems.

Hours and Info

This course will award 1.5 hours of continuing education.

The times will be 10:00 am Pacific, 11:00 am Mountain, 12:00 pm Central, and 1:00 pm Eastern

Approved in All 50 States